ECRO 2018 - Program 

Downloadable PDF of program-at-a-glance


ECRO 2018 - Symposia


Keynote Lectures


Buck Linda, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, USA

Hansson Bill, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology, Jena, Germany

Hildebrand John, The University of Arizona, Tucson, USA

Shepherd Gordon M., Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, USA

Touhara Kazushige, The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Tschöp Matthias H., Helmholtz Zentrum München, Garching, Germany


 Symposia Topics


1. Ionotropic sensory receptors: Using channels to detect the chemical world

Chair: Steven Munger, Dept. Pharmacology and Therapeutics, University of Florida, Gainesville, USA



  • Thomas Voets - KU Leuven
  • Paul Garrity - Brandeis University
  • Craig Montell - University of California Santa Barbara
  • Emily Liman - University of Southern California


2. Recent developments in state-dependent modulation of the early
    rodent olfactory system

Chair: Markus Rothermel - Dept. Chemosensation, RWTH Aachen, Aachen, Germany



  • Daniel Wesson - University of Florida
  • Wolfgang Kelsch - Heidelberg University
  • Etsuo Susaki - University of Tokyo
  • Markus Rothermel - RWTH Aachen


3. When senses take flight: the chemical senses of birds

Chairs: Hannah Rowland, MPI of Chemical Ecology, Jena, Germany & Barbara Caspers, University of
Bielefeld, Germany



  • Sarah Golüke - University of Bielefeld
  • Sarah Leclaire - CNRS Toulouse
  • Antonella di Pizio - The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Hannah Rowland - MPI of Chemical Ecology


4. Olfaction as moderator of human relationships

Chair:  Ilona Croy, Technical University of Dresden, Dresden, Germany



  • Jessica Freiherr - RWTH Aachen
  • Valentina Parma - International School for Advanced Studies (SISSA)
  • Jan Havlicek - Charles University
  • Jonas Olofsson - Stockholm University
  • Laura Donner - University Hospital Dresden


5. To be choosen from abstracts





6. Neural circuits for metabolism

Chair:  Ana I. Domingos, Oxford University, Dept. Physiology, Anatomy, Genetics, Oxford, UK



  • Zachary Knight - University of California
  • Ivan de Araujo - The John B. Pierce Laboratory
  • Sophie Steculorum - MPI for Metabolism Research
  • Ana Domingos - Oxford University


 7. Chemoreceptors that maintain the internal milieu


Chairs:  Yuzo Ninomiya, Section of Oral Neurosciences, Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan & Wolfgang
Saarland University, Homburg, Germany



  • Robert Margolskee - Monell Center
  • Yuzo Ninomiya - Kyushu University
  • Yuki Oka - California Institute of Technology
  • Nicholas Dale - University of Warwick


8. Plasticity in chemosensory systems

Chairs:  Ricarda Scheiner, Behavioral Physiology and Sociobiology, University of Würzburg, Germany & 
             Wolfgang Rössler, Behavioral Physiology and Sociobiology, University of Würzburg, Germany



  • Silke Sachse - MPI for Chemical Ocology
  • Jean-Christophe Sandoz - CNRS Paris
  • André Fiala - Georg-August-University Göttingen
  • Nicola Simcock - Newcastle University


9. ECRO Young Investigators

To be choosen from abstracts





10. Multiscale characterization of chemoperception: from chemical
      compounds to signaling

Chairs: Mercedes Alfonso-Prieto, Heinrich Heine University, Düsseldorf, Germany & Alejandro Giorgetti,
            University of Verona, Verona, Italy



  • Thomas Hofmann - TU Munich
  • Masha Niv - The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Piero Andrea Temussi - University of Nales Federico
  • Maik Behrens - TU Munich


11. New developments in olfactory signaling

Chair:  Peter Mombaerts, Max-Planck Research Unit for Neurogenetics, Frankfurt, Germany



  • Stuart Firestein - Columbia University
  • Maurice Curtis - The University of Auckland
  • Peter Mombaerts - Max Planck Research Unit for Neurogenetics
  • Bernd Bufe - University of Applied Sciences
  • Dietmar Krautwurst - Leibniz Institute for Food Systems Biology


12. Chemosensory processing in insect disease vectors

Chairs: Olena Riabinina, University of Manchester & Conor McMeniman, Johns Hopkins University



  • Syed Zainulabeudd - University of Notre Dame
  • Ulrike Fillinger - International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology (ICIPE)
  • Chloe Lahondere - Virginia Tech
  • Conor McMeniman - Johns Hopkins University
  • Clement Vinauger - Virginia Polytechnic Institute